Róisín Murphy

Róisín Marie Murphy is an Irish electronica singer, songwriter, and producer. Murphy first came to note as part of the electronic music duo Moloko. Her partner in the band was then-boyfriend Mark Brydon. After the two ended their relationship, Murphy released her debut solo album Ruby Blue, written and produced with Matthew Herbert, in 2005. The album featured the singles ‘Sow Into You’ and ‘If We’re in Love’

Her second solo album Overpowered was released in 2007. The album featured the singles ‘Overpowered’, ‘Let Me Know’ and ‘You Know Me Better’ (which features on Ministry of Sound Mashed 4). Overpowered received a nomination for the Choice Music Prize in the Republic of Ireland; the award is given each year to an Irish artist who has proved to produce a critically acclaimed album.